Just Harriet by Elana K Arnold -- Blog Tour


I'm so excited to be part of the blog tour for Just Harriet - by Elana K. Arnold!


ABOUT THE BOOK (From the publisher)

From the award-winning author of A Boy Called Bat comes a new young middle grade series in the tradition of Ramona and Clementine, starring an unforgettable girl named Harriet.

There are a few things you should know about Harriet Wermer:
She just finished third grade.
She has a perfect cat named Matzo Ball.
She doesn’t always tell the truth.
She is very happy to be spending summer vacation away from home and her mom and dad and all the wonderful things she had been planning all year.

Okay, maybe that last one isn’t entirely the truth.

Of course, there’s nothing Harriet doesn’t like about Marble Island, the small island off the coast of California where her Nanu runs a cozy little bed and breakfast. And nobody doesn’t love Moneypenny, Nanu’s old basset hound. But Harriet doesn’t like the fact that Dad made this decision without even asking her.

When Harriet arrives on Marble Island, however, she discovers that it’s full of surprises, and even a mystery. One that seems to involve her Dad, back when he was a young boy living on Marble Island. One that Harriet is absolutely going to solve. And that’s the truth.


My Thoughts:
I have nothing but massive respect for Elana K. Arnold, at least partly because she clearly has respect for her readers. Harriet experiences a lot frustration and even anger as she gets send to visit her Nanu for the summer, and we never see her feelings "talked down to" or diminished in any way. Harriet may find herself lying a lot to protect her inner self, but she never lies to her readers about how she is feeling. Kids will find reflections of themselves in her energy and growth over the course of this story.

The story itself is a fun adventure. We get to follow her as she explores the island, figures out mysteries, learns more about her father as a child, and learns about herself. Readers will love her cat, the sleep basset hound Moneypenny, and her sweet Nanu. I found myself wishing I could visit the bed and breakfast and check out the little ice cream shop myself.

I can't wait to share this gem with the teachers at my school. I know that their students will find everything to love about Harriet.


Who will love this book:
I mean - who won't? Okay, that's not a helpful answer... This book is ideal for elementary school readers who are ready for chapter books. It would also make a lovely read aloud!

-- Readers who like to follow along and solve mysteries.
-- Readers who understand what it's like to feel upset and angry.
-- Readers who don't always tell the truth.
-- Readers who like to keep some things secret.


Teachers -- check out the great discussion guide you can use with this book in your classroom!




About the Author:

Elana K. Arnold is the author of critically acclaimed and award-winning young adult novels and children’s books, including the Printz Honor winner Damsel and the National Book Award finalist What Girls Are Made Of. Several of her books are Junior Library Guild selections and have appeared on many best book lists, including the Amelia Bloomer Project, a catalog of feminist titles for young readers. Elana teaches in Hamline University’s MFA in Writing for Children and Young Adults program and lives in Southern California with her family and menagerie of pets. You can visit her online at www.elanakarnold.com.

 

Other Elana K. Arnold books I've written about on my blog...
A Boy Called Bat
Bat and the Waiting Game

Other Elana K Arnold books I've read and love...

YA (these two are VERY intense and absolutely amazing)
Damsel
Red Hood


Visit the other stops on the Blog Tour!

January 31 Nerdy Book Club @nerdybookclub
February 3 Teachers Who Read @teachers_read
February 13 Maria's Mélange @mariaselke
February 14 Satisfaction for Insatiable Readers @grgenius
February 21 StoryMamas @storymamas
February 22 Unleashing Readers @unleashreaders

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Parent Book Club - Guest Post

Blog Tour for Finding Orion by John David Anderson